Ian Singleton

What It Might Look Like…

Posted in Uncategorized by iansingleton on June 17, 2010

It’s been a while since I wrote anything on here. I wanted to have a look at the iPad and see what impact that might have.

What I envisage is a situation where I can see a tag cloud based on the information contained in the IPTC tags of my scans. At the moment, there are two sorts of information – document type and subject. So I’d see a tag cloud like this one (scan20843).

If I chose the invoice tag, I’d expect to see a secondary tag cloud that looked like this one, a list of all the organisations from whom I’d received an invoice (scan 21036).

From there, I’d like to see either a thumbnail of the relevant scans – like this (scan21034)

Or a list based on my narrative summary of each scan – like this (scan21035).

By highlighting either the thumbnail or the line in the narrative description, that pulls the relevant scan up onto the screen.

What packages exist already that are like this? I’m sure there are lots, it’s just that I can’t find them.

This isn’t really an iPhone app. The cloud would be tiny on a phone screen and it’s not a lot of fun trying to read a legal contract on a three and a half inch screen.

For the iPad, though, this is a completely different matter.

Comments Off on What It Might Look Like…

